It’s March already…this (school) year is going by SO unbelievably fast and I know the rest of the year will continue to go by even faster. I have soo much coming up in the next couple of months….German Day, Spring Choir Concert, Wilds Game, Normandale and PLHS Spring breaks (but of course they are 2 different weeks), Easter, Hunter Hayes concert, my sister is coming at the beginning of May with my nieces:), Celebrate! Concert (which is Disney themed this year and gonna be amazing as always), probably going fishing with my Dad for fishing opener,  and soon as school is over I’m off to travel the world…well really just a small part of Europe–mostly Germany. So I’ve had this recipe for awhile…well a couple of months…maybe 2 and ever since I stumbled upon it on Stumble Upon I’ve wanted to make these. They just looked so freakin AMAZING! And lemon and fresh raspberries are such an amazing pairing. (fair warning this is a LONG posts with lots of pictures….if you’re hungry and craving something sweet I would suggest reading later.)

I started by making dough…which is something I don’t usually do so it was pretty new to me.

Finally got a candy thermometer….which I later dropped and broke (OOPS…Sorry Deb) Anyways the dough starts off by warming up milk to 95 degrees F.

Then you put the warm milk into the mixer with yeast and sugar for a couple of minutes. Then mix in butter, eggs, lemon zest, and some salt and mix it all up. Then add in flour, and let the mix do all the work with the dough hook and it kneads it for you.

I placed the dough into a greased bowl and sprinkled some flour on top to rise. I covered it with plastic wrap and a towel.

That towel just happened to be a Christmas towel with Santa Claus on it.

I let the dough rise when I went out to dinner with Erik….and I was gone a little longer than I had expected and the dough also rose a little more than expected.

To begin the filling you have to brown butter. Now this is a concept I have heard of but never had or made before. It’s really simple but I can see how easily it could go wrong (letting it go too long and burning it). You just put the butter into a pan and lit it sit until its melted and brown (in this picture it isn’t done yet) it will have a very nutty aroma. It will smell AMAZING! I had to keep myself from just stopping here and sitting and smelling the browned butter because I’m the kind of person who would do that. Also because this was new…I had to taste it and it really doesn’t taste much like butter at this point. It tastes much like it smells…very nutty and delicious.

Then I rolled the dough out and brushed it with the browned butter. MMMMMMM!

The dough is then sprinkled with a mixture of raspberries, lemon zest, sugar, and some cornstarch and then is sprinkled with even more sugar.

And this would be the point where my dogs decide to stand and stare at me in hopes of receiving some treats. It wasn’t happening…but they were very attentive.

And then I rolled it up and admired how nice and neat it was. But like it said in the recipe at this point….It. Gets. Messy. and sticky…and sweet…and finger lickin good.

The rolls have now been cut and placed in the pan to rise. At this point I also had I large sticky-floury mess on my counter.

I let the rolls rise for about an hour and they puffed up pretty nice.

And baked off until they are golden and bubbly.

There was ONE roll that wanted to be really big and squish the other roll. Poor little thing.

And top em all off. I made a sweet glaze. Some powdered sugar, water, and lemon juice.

My brother’s imitation of the “Sweet Baby Jesus” face (face below) from websites like Rage Stache If you don’t know what it is…Check it out. I gotta admit it can be kinda funny. Erik always asks me what my favorite face is….and well honestly I do enjoy the man who says “You don’t say?”

Sweet Baby Jesus That’s Good

Recipe:

Dough-

1 Cup Milk

2/3 Cup Sugar

1 1/2 tbls Yeast

1 Stick of Butter

2 Eggs

1 Teaspoon of Lemon Zest

4 1/2 Cups of AP Flour

To make Dough: In saucepan warm Milk to 95 degrees F. Pour into mixer and pour in the sugar and let sit for 5-7 minutes. Once it’s frothy beat in the butter, eggs, lemon zest, and salt. Once mixed add 4 1/2 cups of flour and mix for 2 minutes. Remove paddle attachment and add dough hook. Mix for 10 minutes. Knead for about 2 minutes by hand then put it into a greased bowl and sprinkle with flour to eise for about 1 1/2 – 2 hours. Cover with plastic wrap and towel.

Filling:

1 1/2 Cups of Raspberries (fresh is always better)

1/3 Cups of Sugar plus 1/2 Cups for dusting

1 tea. Lemon Zest

1 1/2 Lemon Juice

1 1/2 Tea. Cornstarch

1/2 Stick of butter, melted and browned. (slightly cooled)

To make Filling: In a bowl mix together raspberries, 1/3 cups of sugar, lemon zest and juice, and cornstarch. Crushing raspberries slightly.

Glaze:

1 1/2 Cups of powdered sugar

3 Tbls. Lemon Juice

1 Tbls. Water

To make glaze: Mix Together in a bowl. Simple as that.

To assemble:

Roll out the dough into roughly a 10 x 20 rectangle. Brush browned butter over the dough and srinkle on the raspberry filling and remaining 1/2 cup of sugar. Roll the dough up tightly. This is where is gets messy. Cut into 12 rolls. (Cut log into quarters then cut each quarter into 3 rolls and place in greased pan. Cover with a towel and let rise for 1 hour. Bake in 400 degree over for about 20 minutes or until golden and bubbly. Once cooled (or not) drizzle on the glaze and enjoy.

Recipe adapted from: http://joythebaker.com/2011/08/lemon-raspberry-breakfast-rolls/ (I’m so totally in love with the color scheme she would have in her house if she could…SOO Pretty…maybe for that one dream house I told you about Marisa 😉